2019 Southeast Louisiana Council ~ Boy Scouts of America Distinguished Citizen Award – Gregory R. Rusovich

Date/Location

Wednesday, October 23 - WWII Museum Freedom Pavilion 6:30 p.m. Reception –7:00 p.m. Dinner/Program

Honoree and Purpose - The Boy Scouts of America is proud to recognize the noteworthy and extraordinary leadership of distinguished citizens in our community. Their lives serve to inspire our youth to lead, accept responsibility and care about principles and causes beyond self-interest. Honoring distinguished citizenship delivers a message that character counts and puts into place guideposts to lead young men and women into adulthood.



Gregory Rusovich joined Transoceanic Shipping Company in 1981 after receiving his Political Science degree from Tulane University in New Orleans. Mr. Rusovich now serves as the Chief Executive Officer, Transoceanic Development, a firm dedicated to global logistics and transportation.

Born and raised in New Orleans, Mr. Rusovich is very active in numerous past and present civic pursuits and has received many awards and honors for his civic endeavors. He has dedicated his civic efforts toward post Katrina New Orleans reform and recovery issues with a focus on global trade, economic development, criminal justice and tourism.

Greg is married to Suzanne Walther Rusovich. Together they have two children, Colin and Nicholas. He is an avid football and basketball fan, and enjoys tennis and fishing...when time permits.

Previous Recipients:

ious recipients.						
	1982	John G. Phillips, LL&E				
	1983	Martin C. Miller, Hibernia National Bank				
	1984	James R. Moffett, Freeport-McMoRan				
	1985	H.D. 'Von' Graham, Jr., Arthur Andersen				
	1986	Tom Benson, New Orleans Saints				
	1987	E.L. "Chick" Williamson, LL&E				
	1988	R. Thomas Fetters, Jr., CNG				
	1989	Frank B. Stewart, Jr., Stewart Enterprises				
	1990	L. Ronald Forman, Audubon Institute				
	1995	John P. Laborde, Tidewater				
	1996	H. Leighton Steward, LL&E				
	1997	Governor M.J. "Mike" Foster, Jr., State of Louisiana				
	1998	Herschel L. Abbott, Jr., BellSouth				
	1999	John J. Cordaro, Entergy Corporation				
	2000	Donald "Boysie" Bollinger, Bollinger Shipyards, Inc.				
	2001	Waldemar S. Nelson, Waldemar S. Nelson and				
		Company, Inc.				
	*Dosthumous award					

*Posthumous award

- 2002 James E. Fitzmorris, Jr., Fitzmorris & Associates
- 2003 Senator John Breaux, United States Senator
- 2004 Corinne "Lindy" Claiborne Boggs
- 2006 Lt. General Russel L. Honore', United States Army
- 2007 Sheriff Harry Lee, Jefferson Parish Sheriff*
- 2008 Governor Bobby Jindal, State of Louisiana
- 2009 William A. Oliver, AT&T
- 2010 Jim Letten, U.S. Attorney
- 2011 Mrs. Phyllis Taylor
- 2012 Ashton Ryan First NBC Bank
- 2013 John Georges Georges Enterprises
- 2014 Robert W. Merrick Latter and Blum
- 2015 William H. Hines Jones Walker Law Firm
- 2016 José Suquet Pan American Life
- 2017 Warner L. Thomas Ochsner
- 2018 Raymond J. Brandt Ray Brandt Automotive Group

Event Chair: Bill Metcalf - Bill loves Scouting....And especially loves Scouting here in his adopted home town...New Orleans. As the successful founder of New Orleans City Business, Bill has given back to the community in a variety of ways: Chairman of the New Orleans Chamber of Commerce, Junior Achievement and The Boy Scout Council....He understands that teaching our young folks good solid life values and an entrepreneurial business spirit is crucial for the long-term success of our community. An Eagle Scout himself was born in Chattanooga and educated at the University of Texas. Bill and his terrific wife Cindy split their time between New Orleans and Park City, Utah.



<u>Vice Chairs:</u> Joe Exnicios, Michael Hecht, David Kerstein, Merritt Lane, Jay Lapeyre, Jim Letten, Stephen Perry, Alan Philipson, Gary Solomon, Tom Winingder

<u>Event Committee – Growing Each Day!!</u> Darryl Berger, Boysie Bollinger, Ricky Burke, Shane Candies, John Casbon, Kevin Cassidy, Edgar Chase, Brandee Christian, Dan Conwill, Rebecca Conwell, Jeff Corbin, Ralph Cox, Pat Denechaud, Chad Dufrene, John Eastman, Geoff Elkins, Dean Falgoust, Ron Foreman, David Gallo, Lee Giorgio, Torrey Hayden, Hunter Hill, Karl Hoefer, Bob Kimbro, Katie LaGardeur, Mike Marsiglia, Todd Matherne, Bob Merrick, Ryan Moore, Newell Normand, Jim Pellerin, Steve Pettus, Ken Pickering, Joe Schwertz, Paige Sesenbrenner, Jim Stevenson, Frank Stewart, Carrol Suggs, Doug Thornton, Andrew Todd, Marianne Van Meter, Jennifer Van Vrancken, Marion Wallis, Semmes Walmsley, Barbara Windhorst, Robert Zetzmann, Chris Ziluca

Funds raised from this event will provide:

Direct service to Cub Scout Packs, Scout BSA Troops, Venture Crews, Explorer Posts

- Unit Organization, Youth Recruitment, Volunteer Training, Service to Volunteers, Staff Assistance
- Program Services Camping, Activities, Training, Insurance
- Support Services Office Support, Equipment, Salmen Scout Reservation
- Funds to help youth in need experience the wonderful opportunity Scouting provides

Sponsorship Levels for Distinguished Citizen Award - named for Ranks earned by Boy Scouts

- <u>\$25,000: (Eagle Scout Level)</u> 20 seats at Dinner or two tables, company logo on slide show during program, signage at door, listing in program and table, 5 minutes at podium if requested
- <u>\$15,000 Reception Sponsor</u> 15 seats at dinner, or one and a half tables, signage during the reception and recognition at the podium during the program
- <u>\$10,000: (Life Scout Level)</u> 10 seats at dinner or one table, company logo on slide show during program, signage at door, listing in program and at table
- **<u>\$5,000: (Star Scout Level)</u>** 10 seats at dinner or one table, signage at the door, listing in the program and at table
- **<u>\$2,500:</u>** (First Class Scout Level) 6 seats at dinner or partial table, and a listing in the program and table
- <u>\$1,000: (Tenderfoot Scout Level)</u> 2 seats at dinner and a listing in the program

 Tables seat 10 people

Sponsor Registration For Distinguished Citizen

Sponsor Name				
			E-Mail	
Address				
Phone		Atte	ending – Yes () No ()	
() Eagle \$25,000 (() Tenderfoot \$1,000) Reception Sp	oonsor \$15,000	() Life \$10,000 () Star \$5,000	() 1st Class \$2,500
Payment Method:				
MasterCard	VISA	Credit Card #		Exp
Name on Credit Card_				
Check Enclosed Online Registration <u>wv</u>	~ ~	•	nerica) Bill me	
Return to: Boy Scouts	of America P.O.	Box 1146 Meta	airie, LA 70004 – Fax 504-889-1162. F	For more information contact

Torrey Hayden at (office) 504-889-0388 or (cell) 504-458-3361 or via email at <u>torrey.hayden@scouting.org</u> **Tickets will not be mailed. Reservations will be held at the door.**

(Contributions in excess of \$100 per person attending the event are tax deductible. Those contributing but not attending are fully deductible.)